Katherine’s Connections – Pilar

kat_connections

Every once in a while, I read a story that  really resonates with me, or I meet a character that connects so well with me that I find myself still thinking about her for days or weeks afterwards.  These past few months, I have had a few awesome character connections.

These women have spoken to me. I have felt their pain, their triumphs, their shame – I feel connected to them.

I thought it would be nice to share these new characters, and explain how they make me feel.  All of these characters have been showcased in either a DD or spanking type of situation.  Since I am still in the early stages of my DD relationship with my husband, I feel these characters even more strongly.  At some point, I may have male connections, or non spanking connections.  But for the time being, I am going with the characters that have most affected me.

My goal is to do a short blog post introducing a character with whom I feel a very strong connection. And if the timing works out, maybe I can get the author to stop by for a brief chat afterwards.

Wish me luck!

** Note- A very special thank you and shout out goes to Adaline Raine for creating this awesome header for my “Connection” posts. Thanks so much, Addy! I love it! **

********************************************

My first connection is a young woman named Pilar, from Patricia Green’s (Journey Series) Journey’s Valentine and Deuce’s Dancer.

I love this spitfire of a woman, so prideful and tough, yet also scared and vulnerable.  She’s had to be strong for so long, she can’t trust others not to hurt her.  But she desires intimacy and structure, and receives both when she meets handsome pediatric cardiologist, Deuce Journey, while vacationing in Jamaica.  Deuce introduces Pilar to erotic spanking, and she loves it, nicknaming Deuce, “spank-man”. I loved that!

Pilar needs to learn to trust him, and accept the boundaries Deuce sets up for her emotional and physical wellbeing.  Though she doesn’t like it at first, she quickly accepts that not only is this something that turns her on, it also is something necessary for boundaries in their relationship.

In one scene, Deuce threatens NOT to spank her, if she doesn’t comply with him. Too cool! (And yes, I have been threatened with that a few times myself.  *sigh*)

I love that about Pilar! She is so free, emotional, and charismatic.  I feel a real connection to her because of my own desires to straddle the line between punishment and arousal.

I love the fact that even though she is still afraid to trust him at times, she trusts herself to let her passion be her center. She is artistic, creative, beautiful, and able to accept the gifts that he gives her – his Dominance, his leadership, his love, his touch, and sometimes, his discipline.

I really like Pilar’s easy ability to embrace both sides – the boundaries and the eroticism.  She is not ashamed or conflicted about her feelings or desires, because she really doesn’t have anything else to compare it to.

(This is something I am still having difficulty with in my personal DD relationship. If you have read of some of my previous posts you have probably noticed my confliction with the different sides of spanking.)

I love Pilar’s acceptance of her “not quite black and white” relationship, and find that my own desires are quite similar.

(My only big difference is my inability to do anything graceful. I have two left feet that do not afford me Pilar’s gift of dance and fluid motion).

I really enjoyed meeting Pilar Perez in these stories, and found an excerpt page (with pictures) that Patricia was kind enough to allow me to link.  Check out the first chapter, and the awesome character pictures. They are both gorgeous, and exactly how I envisioned them!

I have also included a scene (8 sentences only)  from each story that best showcases each side of Pilar’s spanking relationship with Deuce (with Patricia’s permission, of course). These are among my favorite scenes from the books.

The first is a punishment scene from Journey’s Valentine.  The second is an erotic scene from Deuce’s Dancer.

I hope you enjoyed meeting my first character connection, Pilar.

Happy reading! 🙂

(Punishment Scene from Journey’s Valentine)

“I’m not the only one who cares what happens to you. If you hadn’t come home just now, I’m sure your parents would have been worried about you exactly like I was.”

Pilar knew what he meant.

She got up painfully and moved to the corner near the bookcases. Deuce’s family photos stared at her as she stumbled by, condemning her and her bad behavior. Misery assailed her as her butt throbbed and smarted and tears ran down her face. Her sobs were loud to her ears. Her sniffles would have been pitiful if she hadn’t felt so rotten about her behavior.

**************************

(Erotic Scene from Deuce’s Dancer)

 

She didn’t want to be on her tummy, she wanted to wrap her legs around him and draw him deep, but he had other ideas.

The sharp crack of his hand against her bottom made her gasp. Pleasure coursed through her.

 How did he know? How could he know she’d dreamed of a moment like this? Could he sense her desire to submit to him, to feel the strength of him taking what she offered and a little more as well?

Several more smacks landed on her ass and she raised her hips, offering a better target, an eager landing point for his spanks.

And spank her he did.

***************

10 thoughts on “Katherine’s Connections – Pilar

  1. Patricia Green

    I am so honored that you found a deep connection with Pilar. She is a very strong woman, but also very sensitive and vulnerable. That you would sense these things about her tells me that you are also a sensitive individual, one who I’m happy to know. Many thanks!

    Reply
  2. Anastasia Vitsky

    When it’s your own blog, you’re allowed to quote more than eight sentences. 🙂 I agree that it’s neat to see how deeply you connect with the characters in the stories. It’s a wonderful gift to the authors who write the characters. It’s like sending our children to school and watching them make friends and being cared for by their teachers. 🙂

    And that is a lovely header!

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      It’s right up your alley, Renee.
      holy cow, between her arousal and the intensity of some of their sessions, I was one very, umm, happy woman.
      Thanks!
      🙂

      Reply
  3. Natasha Knight

    I read the excerpts first – thank you. 🙂 Another thoughtful post Katie and lovely excerpts, Patricia. Can you tell her to post more than 8 sentences next time please?

    Reply
  4. Patricia Green

    I had to pick a number with regard to the sentences on this blog. My contracts for these books specifically say that i’m limited for any quotes beyond the first chapter. I would have been delighted to have Katherine share more, but I didn’t want to get either of us in trouble. Sometimes being a “law abiding citizen” is a pain in the patootie. 🙂

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Patricia Green Books » Blog Archive » A Connection with Pilar (of the Journey Series)

  6. Jenna Jaxon

    I loved all the Journey series, and Deuce’s Dancer was no exception. Pilar is a fantastic character and I understand why she might resonate well with Patricia’s readers. Great post, Katherine!

    Reply

Leave a comment