New Author Interview With Sahalie Blue

I recently had the pleasure of interviewing the lovely Sahalie Blue she is a new Spanktastic author which I know everyone will love as well as her co-author Mark.

 

KD:  What made you decide to write a book?

SB: While I’ve previously done professional writing for my jobs, it’s always been very easy for me to express my personal thoughts and feelings in letters and emails to friends and family. Writing romantic fiction seemed to be a natural progression from this. And now that I’m retired, writing provides a great motivation for rolling out of bed in the morning.

As for the book, A Sterling Maid for You, I’m a fan of Mark Sterling’s writing – I’ve read all of his books. And when he wrote a short story for his blog called Man of the House, it inspired me to write a short story I called Maid in a Tub. Next up, I wrote Two Maids and a Feather Duster and A Helping Hand. Mark added to all these stories and adeptly polished them up. He thought of the storyline for To Catch a Maid, and we both helped build it to its completion. And, viola, the book with its five short stories was done! It was a fantastic experience.

KD:  Why erotic romance?

SB: Well, I love to read erotic romance and envision myself in those scenes. Mmm! And I’ve always had a bit of a dirty mind.

My husband and I have been married a long time. Bless him, he doesn’t mind that I am writing sexy, spanking stories with another man. He thinks it’s great, and it helps to spice up our marriage, if you get my drift. {{wink}}

KD:  What are your favorite genres to read?

SB: Mysteries are my favorite, and I really enjoy classic romantic comedy. My favorite book is Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. I also like to read science fiction, and of course, a good spanking story.

KD:  Do you do any of the stuff you write about? 😉 (if too personal, feel free not to answer)

SB: My hubby and I do not live a D/s or DD lifestyle. But, I am the ‘Sterling Maid’ of my household, and I will admit to cleaning bathrooms in the nude just like one of the maids in our book does.

KD:  How long did this first project take from start to finish? Was it about how long you expected?

SB: After I read Mark’s Man of the House short story, I toyed with the idea of working on a maids story of my own. I didn’t start writing until a few months after his story debuted, but once I did everything fell into place quickly.

KD:  What was your favorite thing about writing your first book?

SB: I had a lot of fun. It was a great learning experience. For example, I did some background reading and research on FFM menages, which I utilized in Two Maids and a Feather Duster. I read how a British butler would properly cane an inept maid, which I ‘applied’ in A Helping Hand.

I thoroughly enjoyed re-watching the film, To Catch a Thief. Readers who are familiar with the movie might enjoy some of the references we included in our story, To Catch a Maid. This was truly my favorite part of co-writing the book.

I tried to make all the characters real. There is love and humor and, of course, sex and spanking in each story. Mark and I think there is something for everyone in this book, and I’m proud of all the stories.

KD:  What was your least favorite thing about writing your first book?

SB: Since Mark and I live on opposite sides of the USA, we must collaborate via email. Sometimes the ideas flow so fast that we pelt each other with messages. On those days I think it would be easier to co-write in person. Ahh, if only. I get tingles just thinking about personally recreating some of the spanking scenes with Mark. Readers demand accuracy, right? (hehe)

KD: What was it like coauthoring with Mark Sterling? (tell us something juicy, LOL 😉 )

SB: Mark has been very supportive of me. It’s a great process really, building off each other’s ideas. We are friends and are used to working together.

As I mentioned earlier, I’m a fan of his writing. So awhile back when he asked me to beta read his book Stranded With Charlotte, I jumped at the chance. Since then I’ve beta read and edited several of his books, and, I hope, have added a more feminine perspective to his stories. All of this has lead to our writing together and it feels seamless. When I re-read parts of the maids book, sometimes I honestly couldn’t tell you who wrote what.

I’ll tell you something funny – you know Mark likes to write himself as a character into several of his stories. Sterling Maids is a play, a joke really, on his pen name. In Man of the House, we created a house-cleaning company for his fictional wife Tanya. The fictional Mark makes an appearance in the other short stories in clever ways. Which leads me to…

Tell you something juicy – LOL – the fictional Mark and his fictional wife Tanya have some bath-time fun together in Maid in a Tub. I can assure you there was no rubber ducky anywhere in sight, although there was something else made of rubber close at hand…{{wink}} We both wrote that sexy scene.

KD:  What’s next ?

SB: Mark and I have completed the first draft of a sexy, spanky science fiction story tentatively titled, Love Under the Violet Crown. It’s a sequel to his book Love on a Forbidden Planet. We’ve talked about writing more books in the series and I truly hope this happens.

As for me, I have ideas for a contemporary romance and a western. They will both include spanking scenes, of course.

Thank you so much, Katherine, for interviewing me! It was a pleasure.

BUY LINK

Amazon

51ynio9ebil-_sy346_

This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About cariadbooksblog

Hi Everyone! My name is Heidi and I hail from the beautiful city of Cardiff. When I’m not lost in a book you can find me crafting. I make cards, blankets, and just about anything else. I’m also a total film junkie, too. I love romances (obviously!), comedies and Disney films. My true passion in life, though? Reading. I love the way you can pick a book up and get immersed in it. While I read romance of all types, I especially enjoy menage and paranormal. I’m planning to blog most days of the week. It might be a cover reveal for an upcoming release I’m excited about or teasers. You’re most likely to find a review. Authors, if you’d like me to review your book, be sure to contact me!

3 thoughts on “New Author Interview With Sahalie Blue

  1. rozharrison

    Enjoyed reading this Katherine and Sahalie, this sounds like an awesome set of stories. Congratulations Sahalie!

    Hugs
    Roz

    Reply

Leave a Reply

