I’m Weird and I’m me – a personal post

I’m WEIRD

and

I’m ME

I don’t know exactly where this post is going to take me, because I am thinking as I type.  I started musing while I was in the shower (it’s where most of my good ideas come from), about a conversation I had with my sister the other day.
She called me weird after I said something extremely “Kate” like. But it didn’t offend me.
We took the conversation further, and both agreed that my inability to sometimes fit in with “normal” society, is also what gives me my intense creative spark.
It also gives me a huge heart for love and the desire to create new things every day- whether they be in written form, sung, made with mod podge, glued, stitched, knitted, sewed…
For most of my life, I have been called names  and descriptions like
  • hyperactive
  • geek
  • dork
  • spaz
  • crazy
  • weird
and the worst…
  • not normal
and for most of my life (and in moments when I am feeling less secure), I have been hurt by those comments.
But now that I have my own children who exhibit a lot of my unique “Kateness”, I can see how unique and beautiful these differences make them.
And if I can see that beauty in them, it stands to reason, I should see it in my own self.
Sometimes, it’s hard.
Sometimes, I feel sad, unloved, misunderstood’ like I am on the outside looking in.
But those feelings don’t last long. 
By nature, I am a happy, energetic person. So I don’t stay down long. And I know how to ask for help.
I am blessed with a great online social network of friends who are always ready to send hugs and
❤ ‘s. (even better – kitten and puppy pictures!!! 🙂 )
I also have a small network of close friends who I can call or email and talk to.
So, here’s the thoughts for the day:
If I have friends like that…
  • I must not be that unlikable

 

If I like creating things, and it gives me pleasure, and sometimes, it blesses others…
  • then, my energy and “spazziness”, must be a good thing.

 

And finally, if I can accept those differences in my children, and see them for all their worth, and all the wonderful things they bring to others…
  • then, I need to accept them in myself.
Yes, sometimes the words hurt. But they don’t have to.
I’m proud to be weird.
I am proud to be different.
My unique “Kateness“, makes me special.
 
And I like that about me.
 
 
I might not always be able to let go of the words, and I might not always have the self confidence to be me,
 
 
but for now…
 
I accept that
 
 
I am weird
 
and
 
I am the only me I can be.
Someday soon, I might start a new blog (and maybe even a slightly autobiographical story about all the interesting things I have been through.)
 
It will be funny. (the story of me dancing in my undies to the Justice League theme song, is a pretty good start. 🙂 )
 
 
It might be a bit gross  ( picking lice from the kids’ hair, burping, yeah, lots of burping, gross cat stuff…..)
 
 
Then there’s Army training, running, my first Thanksgiving turkey….
 
And there might be some not so happy moments (the real stuff that still make me cry at night)
 
 
But most of all, it will be me.
So that’s me.
 
I will keep you all posted if / when I finally start the new series or blog.
 
-special hugs for each of you, my unique, gifted, wonderful friends.
 
blessings and hugs ❤
– KATE
8 thoughts on “I’m Weird and I’m me – a personal post

  1. Patricia Green

    You have to be yourself because you really can’t be anyone else. So embrace her. Be her. Do it for yourself and for those who love you. There’s no one else on the planet just like you. I think that’s a cause for celebration — celebration of how lucky we are to have THE Kate in our lives.

    Reply
  2. Natasha Knight

    You’re not weird, you’re limited edition! Me too!! Actually, I quite like weird and why would you be anything but you? It would be exhausting. Besides, we love you for you. 😀

    Reply
  3. willierubble

    When I was in high school a very long time ago ( thank GOD..LOL) I used to simply say, ” The word is unique not freak” . I tell our 18 year old son all the time, ” Normal is the Big Lie, And even if you don’t believe me, who the hell wants to be ‘normal’ “.

    Life needs more colour. Enjoy being the rainbow!

    willie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

