Keriann McKenna visits – with The Key to Annie’s Heart

I’m over at Cara Bristol’s today, and I have Keriann McKenna visiting me with an excerpt from her debut spanking romance. 🙂  This one sounds sweet and sassy, and I have already loaded it on my Kindle. And don’t you love this cover?

 

key to annies heart

 

Blurb:

To live a rancher’s life in the Rocky Mountains had always been Mac’s dream.  He loved his place on Fall River.  He was a success by anyone’s measure, except his own.  He failed to keep his wife content to be at home, although “home” was a dream put to architectural drawings.  Too many nights she preferred to stay in town with friends rather than make the trip up the mountain.  She liked to party, and winding mountain roads coupled with too much to drink ended her life.  Could Mac ever forgive himself for his wife’s death?

In all his ways Mac was basic, even when it came to sex.  He was a standard missionary position kind of guy with an occasional variation.  That would have to change; he wanted a wife and a family—a second chance.

Annie Campbell was a busy event planner at a five star hotel in the city.  Fiercely independent, she wouldn’t consider herself sexually savvy; she certainly was open to new experiences.  It had been six lonely years since her husband died.  It was time to move on and setting her fears aside, she joined an Internet dating site.

After reading what she considered to be a damn near perfect profile, she sent Mac a brief note and waited.   He had no idea just how independent she was.  She had no idea how over-protective he was—but they were about to find out.

Could Mac pull it off?  Could a country guy woo a city gal, stop researching how to please a woman, and put it into practice…and what about Annie?  Could she surrender some of her independence and learn to submit to him?  Read their story!

A contemporary western romance, The Key to Annie’s Heart is the first novel in the Fall River Ranch series.  MacDermot’s Bride, Book 2, is scheduled to be released by March, 2015, and will be followed by a prequel, The MacDermot’s of Scotland.  Each is a stand-alone novel intended for mature readers.

****

Excerpt:

As Mac handed each dish to Annie, she picked up her chopsticks and managed to slide some of the food onto her plate.  Mac picked up his chopsticks and with precision selected what he wanted.

Annie pushed her food around on her plate, making an effort to hide how totally inept she was at using those damn sticks.  She peeked over at him and wished she had a dinner roll to help her shove some of the veggies onto her sticks.

Out of the corner of his eye, Mac watched as she tried to pick up a glazed onion by pushing it against a piece of chicken.  It looked like she had it almost up to her mouth when the tips of the sticks quickly slid past each other and with lightning speed the onion flew toward Mac landing on his sleeve.  He could no longer conceal his grin.

“Oh Mac, I’m so sorry!”  Tears were beginning to well up in her eyes as she carefully removed the onion and tried to clean his sleeve with her napkin.

“Let me help you,” he offered, barely able to stop the laugh which was begging to escape.  He reached over and took her hand.  With one swift move, he stabbed a piece of chicken and guided it into her mouth.

“Mmm, good,” she mumbled, her mouth full of food.

“Darlin’, many people never master the technique of using these things.”  There was a combination of empathy and controlled laughter in his voice.

“I feel like such an idiot,” she proclaimed, looking at two very simple little sticks.

Without further comment, he took the chopsticks from her hand.  “Let me feed you.”

“No way!   Just get me a fork and I’ll be fine,” she assured him.

“I don’t think so; I may not get this opportunity again.”  Taking his sticks, he picked up veggies and lo mien noodles and held them in front of her mouth.

“Open wide,” he said.

“Mac, really, this is embarrassing.”

“Oh Darlin’, to the contrary, it is wonderfully sexy.”

“Oh you think so?  I feel like a helpless baby,” Annie protested.

“Annie, there are times when I would love you to be my helpless baby.”

Thoroughly humiliated, and at the same time thinking that being his baby could be a bit erotic, Annie resigned herself to being fed and opened her mouth.  She had to admit, as she began to relax, this was the sexiest thing he’d done all evening.

 

Bio:

Hi Readers, thanks for reading The Key to Annie’s Heart; I hope you enjoyed it and will leave a review.

I’ve been writing for most of my life.  My first love was music and lyrics and my first song was a dreadfully simple little tune about a boy I was madly in love with at fourteen.  I’m certain I drove my grandmother to distraction as I wailed this boy’s name from the piano in the living room at every opportunity…romance was in my heart even at a young age.

Later in life I developed my craft as a poet and published work in anthologies.  I still write poetry but am dipping my toes in the waters of romance, both sweet and steamy.

I was born in a small community in Upstate New York, but left as soon as I bought a decent car that didn’t require more oil than gas…I’m not kidding.  I used to pull into a service station, hand the attendant five bucks for gas and tell him to fill it up with drain oil.

I lived in Canada and the Midwest for several years before settling in the Seattle area with the love of my life.  I now live in the foothills of the beautiful Rocky Mountains near my family; I’m retired from the counseling field although I still work crisis intervention two nights a week.  I consult with and edit for other authors into the wee hours of the night, and I rescue senior dogs and give them a forever home.

Webpage:  http://keriannmckenna.com

Blog: http://keriannmckenna.weebly.com/   

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/keriann.mckenna

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/KeriannMcKenna

****

A question for Keriann:

Does Prince Charming exist?

Of course he does.  Prince Charming is the man who couldn’t live a day without you.  He shares your values and respects your opinions.  He is a man who respects women in general, but especially his mother and you, his princess.  He also loves children and sets a good example for them.  Prince Charming doesn’t need to raise his voice, doesn’t need foul language to express himself, and doesn’t need to yell or destroy things when he feels anger.  He’s not perfect; he doesn’t need to be.  He only needs to be perfect for you.  In touch with his shortcomings/faults, he works on them.  He may or may not ride a horse, his domicile may not be a castle, but when you’re in his arms you feel loved and safe.

 

Buy on Amazon

5 thoughts on “Keriann McKenna visits – with The Key to Annie’s Heart

Leave a Reply

