Spanking A-Z Blog Challenge, Y: Yarn

spank A2Z

Almost there! Letter Y for the spanking challenge is about yarn ๐Ÿ™‚

I wrote all about crafting in my H: Hand crafts post, which included fun stuff like jewelry, sewing and other quick fun stuff. Today is about the longer projects. The ones using yarn.

Ok, to the best of my knowledge, there are two ways to work with yarn. One is to crochet – using one needle that has a hook on the end of it, so you can hook the stitches.

I do have some crocheted scarves, but could not find any to post. (they are all up in the winter bags. which is funny, because it normally takes me until at least August before I put away the winter stuff. Next February, I’ll put away the summer clothes ๐Ÿ™‚ )

The other way, is to knit – using two long, slenderย needles with pointed ends.

Because of some great help through friends like Patricia Green and online tutorials (thanks also to Celeste Jones), I was able to teach myself to knit.

scarf_light blueย ย  scarf_dark blueย scarf_blue brown and green

My favorite kind of knitting is the ruffle scarf. It has holes at the top, so casting on and off is a lot easier. I can usually do one long scarf in about three hours. (Of course, I have not sat down for three hours straight, in a very long time, so this “three hours” is more like two weeks.) This means I sometimes lose a stitch or two offย my needle when I go to pick it up again.

Which means, sometimes I have to start the WHOLE $%(* thing again! LOL I have not learned how to count or re-stitch a missed stitch.

So some projects take six weeks.

Why would someone do this to themselves?!?

I don’t know. Maybe I really am a masochist? ๐Ÿ™‚

 

No, it’s just that I like the finished product. I love how it looks, finally draped over a loved one or friend’s neck; how they ooh and ah; and really seem to like it.

 

Which reminds me. I never really thanked my mother and hubby’s granny for making the awesome blankets for us.

This one was a wedding gift for hubby and me.

knitted blanket huge blue

Holy cow, the thing is freaking huge! How long did this take to make?! And do you see all the cool designs?

 

baby blanket pink and green

These ones are baby blankets for each of my children. (Yes, there is a kitten on this one. She was very happy I laid it out for her comfort while taking pictures. :))

Look at the intricate pattern on this one.

baby blanket light pink intricate

I am so amazed that someone could not only do this, but that they would put THAT much time and effort into it.

Wow!

I need to call them both again, and thank them (since they hopefully, do not read this blog ๐Ÿ™‚ )

This also got me thinking about my attention span. I gripe and groan over sitting still with nothing to do, no music, no nook, no laptop, when we go “out of service” range.

I HATE sitting still. And honestly, I can only do the mind numbing, yet relaxing, knitting or crocheting, if I am being entertained another way.

But wouldn’t it be cool every once in a while, to just turn off the cell phone, turn down the answering machine, turn off and unplug the IPOD, IPAD, laptop, desktop, Nook, Kindle, Wii, and TV;

and just chill and,

I don’t know.

Knit a huge blanket with my husband while talking idly about whatever pops into our heads?

knitting elderly couple

 

Or to have a fun night knitting with girlfriends?

knitting friends

It sounds nice. Really. To escape from technology and real life for just a night or two. (Ok, I’m having another one of my “I just want to move to the country and escape it all” moments)

 

knitting joke half done projects

LOL, that’s me. The unfinished project, gal. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

But it would be nice to just entertain ourselves and each other with nothing more than our words, our creativity, two big needles, and some big balls of yarn.

knitting joke

LOL, if only I could find some real life friends to knit with instead of virtual ones.

Then again, I don’t know ifย I actually would be able to multi-task while knitting.

This is how I envision myself when working with yarn.

sexy kitting pin up

 

Unfortunately, this is probably a better expression.

learning to knit funny man

๐Ÿ™‚

 

So here’s to yarn,

and creating,

whether it be big or small

a short time or long time of effort

 

Here’s to taking a little time away from technological entertainment,

to creating our own fun.

 

funny cat knitted sweater

 

(See? Even kitty likes it! ๐Ÿ™‚ )

๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for stopping by today!

I have one more day to go, and my fellow bloggers are wrapping up their posts.

Follow the link below:

 

 

 

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click hereย to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

This entry was posted in Spanking A-Z and tagged on by .

About katherinedeane

I like to escape reality often, through reading or writing. I love fantasy, sci fi, paranormal, adventure, and spanking romance. I have a DD relationship with my wonderful husband. I started writing because I have a vivid imagination and wild fantasies. I am eagerly awaiting the release of my first book!

11 thoughts on “Spanking A-Z Blog Challenge, Y: Yarn

  1. Rhonda Ralston Griffith

    My grandmother TRIED to teach me to crochet… YEP didn’t work. I think as far as I got on it was a chain:)))

    Reply
  2. hollawrites

    I love yarn and do a fair amount crocheting. I’m not so good at knitting. I can’t sit and just crochet though. I have to do it while watching TV. I used to take some crocheting on airplanes whenever I had to fly but now I’m afraid the TSA will say my crochet hooks are weapons and take them away from me. I like making doilies too, but they’re so old-fashioned and no one appreciates the work that goes into them. No one wants to use them either. Happy yarning!

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      LOL, it is kinda boring, isn’t it? At least for a somewhat hyper active person like me ๐Ÿ™‚

      I still don’t get what doilies are for.
      Do you remember the old animals that grannies would make to cover the toilet paper rolls?
      Those were so cute ๐Ÿ™‚

      Happy crocheting!
      Don’t hurt anyone with your hooks ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Reply
  3. Etta Stark

    I am way too cack-handed to knit.I have trouble sewing buttons onto things. I really admire people who can. Those scarves look amazing! I’m sure anyone who receives one as a gift must be thrilled.

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      LOL, Etta. Thanks!
      Actually, my daughters just use theirs to clothe their toys.

      I can’t wait to finish the beaded one. That one is going to be amazing!
      (which is why I still haven’t been able to figure it out. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

      Reply
  4. Roz Harrison

    Unfortunately I am hopeless with art and crafts. I admire those who have the talent. The scarves and blankets are gorgeous! Cute kitten and kitty:)

    Hugs
    Roz

    Reply
  5. Leigh Smith

    I have both crocheted and knitted, I am a complete failure at both, although I did manage to crochet one whole afghan, but since I didn’t count, it’s not at all even. I tried does that count.
    Your scarves are beautiful and the craftsmanship that went into the blankets in beyond belief.

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      LOL, Leigh. I don’t count during the crochet either. You should see the lopsided purse I am making for my daughter. It starts out square at the bottom, and by the time I get 25 rows up, it is widened by about 6 stitches. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      hehe
      Congrats on the afghan!
      I just don’t have the patience yet for something that big yet.
      and I still can’t believe they would put that much time into those blankets. They are amazing!
      so cool!!!
      ๐Ÿ™‚
      thanks!

      Reply
  6. Cara Bristol

    This reminds me of a “knitting” joke.
    The husband, who was trying to quit smoking, had taken up knitting to keep his hands busy when he wanted a cigarette. After lunch, when the urge to smoke was the strongest, he’d pull all he shades in the house and pick up his knitting needles.
    “What will the neighbors think?” the wife asked.
    “I don’t care what they think–as long as they don’t think I”m knitting.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

