Spanking A-Z Challenge, H: Hand crafts

spank A2Z

Welcome to the A-Z spanking blog challenge! 26 days of “letter themed” posts using each letter of the alphabet.

Today’s letter is “H”. Actually, this post was scheduled for “C” Crafts”, but my muse changed it up on me at the last minute. One of my nice author friends suggested changing “crafts” to hand crafts. So here goes. 🙂

 

I love exploring different ways to make something, arrange something, change it, update, etc…

It also goes well with my ADD personality, LOL. 🙂

As soon as I get a cool crochet project figured out, it’s time to move on to sewing, jewelry making, knitting, and tutu’s!

eaaring collage xmas DSC01767

I love non sewn, fluffy tutu’s and wire wrapped tiaras! (Unfortunately I couldn’t find any pictures of finished tiaras. Sorry 🙂 )

What I like about all of this is the structured non structure.

LOL, I don’t know if that made any sense.

What I mean is this:

As long as I stay within the relative boundaries of a certain activity, I am free to do whatever my little heart desires within those boundaries.

For instance,

In tutu making, I can double, even triple up the layers! I can sew or tie. I can lengthen or shorten at my whim. I can use whatever colors I like. I can hot glue jewels; I can add ribbons, I can make door decorations – you name it!

DSC01754  DSC03093

 

Sewing involves a simple straight stitch. If I want to get fancy, I can serge or fray or embroider.  As long as I go with the grain, and use the right fabrics for the job, I’m gold. LOL, I tried using heavy IKEA curtain fabric once to make a little girls’ skirt. That didn’t work out so well. 🙂

coffee sleeve_brst cancer_walk the walk_high heeel

Jewelry making is all about personalization for me. I can do seed beads, sterling silver, wire wrapped, twisted, magnetic, stretchy, you name it. I like to follow the general pattern, or eyeball something I have seen, and then make it my own.

metal work necklace

ring dangly black silver

necklace illusion pearl silver 8mm

 

Tile jewelry has become one of my favorites for gifts for friends. (Renee Rose was kind enough to let me post a picture of her mom’s tile necklace with bicones.)

renees mom tile necklace

Scrabble tiles are inexpensive to work with, and easy to find. But the glass ones look a lot prettier.

DSC03090  DSC03092

 

I am still trying to figure out what the heck I am doing with this beaded infinity scarf.   As you can see, I am using the pink scarf as a template for the blue yarn. LOL, this is the furthest I have made it so far. 🙂

 

beaded scarf

Crafting is a way for me to try out lots of different things, so I can be creative and productive. Unfortunately, my energetic personality tends to make it easy for me to get bored. So I don’t stick with the same project for long.

I was going to show you a picture of the creative chaos in my sewing room (AKA the dining room), but hubby has forbidden the publication of the picture.  You will just have to take my word for it. The room is jam packed with my, um, creative hobbies.

🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

Quick Update: My youngest child is fighting Strep, and we are desperately trying to keep the rest of the family healthy as well. (LOL, as soon as a friend mentioned strep yesterday, my throat started hurting. 🙂 Hopefully, it is just psychosomatic.) I will not be replying much for the next few days, but will still keep the pre – set posts scheduled. Also, I will probably not be making many visits around to the rest of the blogs until all this passes. Hope y’all understand. 🙂 Hugs and blessings!

Please visit the other great blogs by clicking on the link below.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

8 thoughts on “Spanking A-Z Challenge, H: Hand crafts

  1. tarafinneganromance

    Wow, you’re one multi-talented lady. Fabulous crafts there, Katherine. I hope you pass it on to your kids.

    Reply
  2. reneeroseauthor

    I absolutely treasure the necklace you made me but holy cow, I’m so impressed by the wire and pearl necklaces– those are incredible! I can pick up pearls for you at the gem show next year for cheap if you want!

    Reply
  3. Holla Dean

    We have a lot in common, Katherine. I crochet, embroider, needlepoint, weave, and make jewelry. Funny thing though – while I enjoy making jewelry, I don’t like to wear it much. I also do woodworking and have a very nice workshop in my backyard.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Spanking A-Z Blog Challenge, Y: Yarn | Katherine Deane – Romance Author

Leave a Reply

