Spanking A-Z Challenge B: Cara Bristol Shares Terran with us!

spank A2Z

 

I am so excited to have Cara Bristol with me today, for the letter “B” installment of the Spanking A-Z challenge.

Let me start by saying that I love everything I have read by Cara. She’s just THAT good! But I am enjoying this science fiction side of her even more than the DD side. The Breeder series is amazing! And Terran, the second story, was so much fun, so entertaining, so sexy! I loved this book, and am so happy to have her here sharing it with everyone.

 

Katherine Deane: Thanks for joining me today, Cara. Breeder, the first book in the series has a dark tone, but Terran is lighter, even humorous. (I loved the men’s reactions to her menses, hehe!) Did you plan that, or did it just happen?

Cara Bristol: A little of both. The Breeder series is a dystopian tale of a male-dominated society, and Breeder starts out very bleak. Parseon is a harsh, brutal world. I’m a pantser by nature. I have a general idea of where I want the story to go, but I allow the characters to reveal the story. Marlix, the hero of Terran, surprised me by being a rather funny guy. At first, I thought, oh no, that doesn’t go with the tone I’ve created—but then I realized it did. Because as the characters in the series fall in love, they change their world—and it becomes a lighter, better place. So I allowed the story to go in that direction.

Katherine Deane: Was it hard to switch from your contemporary erotic romances to science fiction romance? This is a lot different than my favorite series by you – Rod and Cane.

Cara Bristol: Not hard to write, no. It was actually a lot of fun. I’d never gotten into world building to that degree, and it happened rather organically. My concern was whether my contemporary spanking romance readers who enjoyed the Rod and Cane Society series would follow me into the sci-fi world. And I had concerns whether the spanking would scare off sci-fi readers. But it seems to have worked out. J One thing that helped was that I did not completely deviate. I have spanking in my sci-fi!

Katherine Deane: LOL, I followed you. And I am very glad you kept the spankings. Do you ever find that your characters surprise you?

Cara Bristol: Oh gosh, yes. I’ve already mentioned that Marlix turned out to be a funny guy—and he was a pseudo villain in the first book. When he kidnapped Tara—I was as surprised as she was. And then he takes her to the Enclave! Well, shoot. The Enclave was going to be setting of the book three, but Marlix revealed all in book two. So I had to find a new setting for book three.

Katherine Deane: So there IS going to be a book three? (does a little happy dance and waves hands in the air wildly)

Cara Bristol: Absolutely. I am writing Warrior now. Urazi and Anika are the main characters. Urazi, a beta, will unleash his inner alpha—his inner warrior. I expect that Warrior will be released sometime in the fall 2014. And I am toying with the idea of doing a sequel to the Breeder trilogy. It would be Progeny—the story of the children of the Breeder characters.

Katherine Deane: That sounds awesome! I can’t wait to read these! So, what inspired the series?

Cara Bristol: The spark was of a society that so devalued its women it enslaved them. Well, how to you turn that into an erotic romance? Through the characters, of course. Amidst the bleakness, even the horror, they find love—and that changes their society. So even though each book in the series is written as a stand-alone, the world changes and grows as the story progresses through the various books—not unlike my Rod and Cane Society series.

Katherine Deane: That was a tough story to write, I bet. When I first heard of the male society, and women used as slaves, I was a little nervous that it might not be my cup of tea. But you pleasantly surprised me. It is such an amazing story! Do you see yourself writing more sci-fi romance? What’s next?

Cara Bristol: I definitely see myself writing more sci-fi romance. And probably another series. After I finish Warrior, I have to get back to Rod and Cane 5, which I put on hold to write Breeder. Liz Davenport is demanding that her story be told. And on June 18, I have a new spanking romance releasing, Long Shot, part of the Corbin’s Bend series. Nine books written by nine different authors. Long Shot is about a divorcee who lost everything when her ex-husband became addicted to gambling. She moves to Corbin’s Bend to recover and meets the hero. She thinks he’s a professional tennis player, but his “tournaments” are really poker games…

Katherine Deane: I can’t wait to read more of your sci fi books! And for the record, Rod and Cane is still my favorite for DD series. I can’t wait to read Liz and Otis’ story. And congratulations and good luck with the awesome Corbin’s Bend story. Just keep me posted! You know I’ll follow you!

Thanks again for joining me today. 🙂

Cara Bristol: Thank you for having me.

CB_Terran_cover

Terran Blurb:

After fleeing loneliness and heartache on Terra, Tara Diehl has adjusted to male-dominated Parseon better than most vendors–until she is kidnapped by Alpha Marlix, one of the five rulers of the planet. At first she’s terrified of her tall, muscled abductor, especially when he doesn’t hesitate to quell her struggle for freedom with a little corporal discipline. After all her methods and ploys to escape fail, she decides to seduce her way to freedom. But out of seduction and subterfuge grow a true intimacy that cause Marlix and Tara to take action that drives Parseon to the brink of civil war, and threatens not only their relationship, but also their lives. Terran, the second book in the Breeder sci-fi series, is a “capture” romance involving a domineering but hunky alien, and a female with a bad dye job and an even worse attitude.

Terran Excerpt

He watched as she pretended to explore the single-room hut. She touched everything: the wood-burning cookstove, a rough-hewn table flanked by benches, and a sleeping apparatus comprised of ropes strung between four posts upon which pallets had been piled. Her gaze took in the walls, crafted of long planks, the knotholes plugged by hardened clay. She peered at the ceiling. He looked up. Thatch.

He had permitted her to delay the unavoidable, for it allowed his anger to cool. He had not forgotten her fragility.

But betrayal could not go unpunished.

Marlix thunked his and Tara’s bags onto the table. She spun around and eyed him, wariness darkening her eyes. She flicked her gaze to the sleeping platform.

“Urazi is not staying here?”

“He will bed down in the barracks for unattached males.”

“So it is just you and me” She swallowed.

“Indeed.”

“I noticed there seemed to be a lot of males and females paired up.”

“Yes, this is the Enclave. They follow a social structure that resembles what you Terrans do.”

She dropped her jaw. “Protocol allows it?”

He ignored her question and opened his bag and extracted a sudon. The broad-shaped leathery paddle was the severed, tanned tail of the quilled, venomous baronian ilyx. Though the needles had been removed, slight raised areas remained—as did scant amounts of toxin, which caused vicious burning and stinging.

Tara pressed a hand to her throat. “What is that?”

Marlix pulled a bench away from the table and set the sudon on it. “Come here.”

“No.” She retreated until the backs of her knees bumped the roped sleeping platform. She shook her head.

In two strides, he’d crossed the room and grabbed her wrist. She balled her free hand into a fist and struck his face. He jerked his head but took the blow and the others she rained upon his shoulders, chest, and arms. She drew her fingers back and with an open palm, aimed the heel at his nose. That one could have done some damage, but he deflected it.

“Let me go, you asshole!” She flailed her arms and legs as he picked her up, sat on the bench, and laid her across his lap. Instead of lifting her shift, he ripped it from shoulder to hem. The force expended, the tearing, the sudden exposure of her nakedness—he felt triumphant satisfaction.

She twisted and kicked, and he allowed her struggles so she would tire herself out. “You lied and betrayed me,” he said calmly.

“You have no right to do this!”

“I have every right. I am Alpha.” He cracked his open hand against her buttock.

Amazon buy link

Barnes and Noble buy link

Cara Bristol’s blog

Friend Cara on Facebook

Follow Cara on Twitter

*****

Please visit the other A to Z Bloggers!

You can click on the link below to see the list.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

17 thoughts on “Spanking A-Z Challenge B: Cara Bristol Shares Terran with us!

  1. Han van Meegeren

    Reading Natasha Knight’s post on Friday I think, I decided to buy both Breeder and Terran. Oh, I am such an impulse buyer! So you see these guest blog post do pay off, Cara. Still got to read it though, but what I read right here makes me think it was money well spent! Thank you Katherine for reminding me to read them!

    Reply
  2. Rhonda Ralston Griffith

    I enjoyed both “Breeder” books:) Can’t wait for the 3rd one:) Great post:)))

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      Hmmm, maybe because it still closely resembles Earth. The “aliens” are still pretty similar to Earthlings when compared to a Vulcan or a Klingon or a Borg.
      Maybe that’s it?
      How do you feel about hobbits and elves?
      LOL, that’s all the intellect I can use for the day 🙂
      Either way, I agree. The Breeder series is hot!
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

