Author Share – Tweeting

Author Share black letters

 

Thanks so much for joining us for today’s installment of “Author Share”. Normandie Alleman, Kathy Batts, and Sheri Savill are here to talk with me about the fabulous (and very confusing to me!) world of Tweeting. Now, I’ll warn you, I have only been tweeting for a few weeks now, and am in way over my head. I like to just retweet what everyone else says, and call it a day. I don’t know the proper lingo (Thirsty Thursday and Fed-up Friday sound good to me!) I’m about to be schooled by these amazing women. Enjoy the ride! 🙂

Katherine Deane: Thanks for joining me ladies. So, let’s jump right in. What is tweeting, and why is it used by authors and readers?

Kathy Batts: Twitter is an online social networking and microblogging service that enables users to send and read short 140-character text messages, called “tweets”. Registered users can read and post tweets, but unregistered users can only read them. Authors use them to get information out to their readers about what’s new, books, events, giveaways, and just to be social and keep in touch.

Katherine Deane: How do I tweet properly without being excessive or annoying?

Kathy Batts: I would do them every half hour/ hour, because if you do it too much, then you become annoying to other people.

Sheri Savill: On being annoying in Twitter, God yes, Twitter can be über-annoying and the jury is out as to whether people even read the all caps ME! ME! ME! tweets anyway, right? I don’t. But I’m a people person. Heh.

Kathy Batts: Put out different content in your Tweets. Don’t use the same ones a million times because then people will unfollow you.

Sheri Savill: I won’t just unfollow you, I will make a voodoo doll of you.

Katherine Deane: What are my choices?

Kathy Batts: You can Tweet manually, or you can use different apps or programs to help automate/schedule them to do a bunch at once if you have a lot of information to get out to people, or if you are busy and don’t have a lot of time. I’m sure there are loads of different options out there, but I have used HooteSuite. There is a regular and paid versions depending on how many Streams you want to attach to you Twitter. The unpaid version you can do five. A Stream counts as a Twitter account, Facebook page, and an Author page on Facebook, etc. And I’ve used that, but I usually use the Hootlet that lives in your browser. Hootlet only works with the Google Chrome browser, so if you use IE, then I would use the HootSuite instead. I like the Hootlet, since if I see anything I want to share, I don’t have to open a program or app, I just click on the owl in my browser.

http://www.hootlet.com/

https://hootsuite.com/products

Katherine Deane: Can you explain buffer app? That is the one I have started using.

Kathy Batts:  https://bufferapp.com/faq#

I haven’t used it really, but I know people that do, and it’s useful to them. Sheri Savill wrote a blog post about it, touting its uses. I love Sheri, she is the best! She knows how to crack me up and be informative at the same time. So you can stop at Sheri’s to learn something new and have a giggle.

http://sherisavill.com/techkink-2/

Sheri Savill: Thanks Kathy, for the kind words! Wow. Means a lot to me. It’s a series I’m kinda doing here and there, calling it TechKink. For authors.

Let me add a plug for my favorite iPhone app, TweetBot. I’ve tried them all, and it’s a personal preference, but TweetBot is by far my fave. You can mute people “forever” rather than unfollow them, for one thing. Not that people are annoying. Heh.

Katherine Deane: What is TT and FF?

Kathy Batts: Translated tweet. #FF stands for “Follow Friday.”

http://mashable.com/2013/07/19/twitter-lingo-guide/

Sheri Savill: There’s also “MT” which is “modified tweet.” Which you can Google.

Katherine Deane: Do I need to reply when people retweet mine or tweet about me?

Kathy Batts: I think it’s only polite to reply when someone tweets about you or tweets yours. The thing with using Triberr is that tons of people are sharing your tweets and it’s hard to thank everyone for that. People are on Triberr to get their information out there to everyone and share yours too.

Katherine Deane: What is Triberr?

Kathy Batts: There is nothing worse than writing a blog post that nobody reads. Triberr solves that problem for bloggers by developing a community of sharing and support with other bloggers.

Triberr is a new and better way to grow your blog’s readership. It’s better because it connects like minded bloggers who are interested in reading and supporting each other. This core community, or Tribe, is the secret to a successful blog.

http://help.triberr.com/faq/

http://help.triberr.com/

Sheri Savill: Triberr drove me insane, though. YMMV.

Katherine Deane: What are the pros and cons for automating your tweets?

Kathy Batts: I think it’s for people that want to schedule it and forget it, so if they are busy, they don’t have to worry about getting information out to people since it’s already there. I would have Jolynn use Buffer so she could do her tweets when she has time, and won’t feel rushed. She’s always working and when she gets home she wants to have her bath, hot tea with honey, and a foot rub.

Sheri Savill: Seriously, endless promo tweets and no live interaction, ever, on Twitter, is annoying and alienating. Just my opinion. Automation is great, and perhaps necessary, these days, but never lose sight of the end-user … real live people, reading your words. Even if it’s just a couple of them (in my case). Moderation, perhaps.

Katherine Deane: Can you please give a few examples of how to tweet properly using a blog post, review, or quote from a book as examples?

Kathy Batts: I attached a jpeg that I did for Jolynn this morning for an example. And also one of Normandie Alleman’s tweet of her Author Spotlight on Jolynn’s blog. I like Normandie’s a lot. You can also embed a tweet into your website or wherever HTML is supported. The code to embed it is below. If you have Blogger or WordPress, go to make a post, and click on text, not visual. Paste it on your post, and click back to visual. Put a title heading for your post and a note in the post, if you want, and click publish.

e.g.

Erotic Romance that’s Rated Arrggh! Check out my Author Spotlight at @JolynnRaymond ‘s Place today. http://t.co/ABxiwIND51 #BDSM

https://support.twitter.com/articles/215585-getting-started-with-twitter#

How to get started:

https://dev.twitter.com/docs/twitter-for-websites

Grab or make your own button for you website and how to embed a tweet:

https://about.twitter.com/resources/buttons#follow

And here’s a jpeg of how to start making your own custom buttons. You have to know how to use HTML to embed it in your website or blog.

Katherine Deane:  Perfect! Thanks so much, Kathy and Sheri! You ladies are awesome for sharing your time and knowledge for this post. 🙂

Normandie Alleman has written up a very informative piece, called “Tweeting 101,” and she is sharing it with us today. Thanks, Normandie!

*****

Thanks Katherine for asking me to talk about tweeting. Twitter is one of my favorite social media outlets. In my previous career I ran a lifestyle blog and used twitter as one of my major marketing tools. I found countless customers and made significant sales through Twitter alone so I can personally attest that you can make money from your Twitter feed. How? By interacting with your followers and building relationships with them.

Will this happen if you automate your tweets and never interact with your Twitter followers? NO. Remember if you aren’t social, you’re not using “social” media to your best advantage.

If all you ever do on Twitter is post a lot of links, and you don’t respond or interact with others all you are doing is standing there shouting at people. If your whole twitter feed is a bunch of people shouting at each other screaming “Look at me! Click MY link!” then who is actually clicking the link? Not a lot of people.

This is why so many people say, “I never get anything out of Twitter.” The truth is that you get out of it what you put into it. I have made friends from all over the world through Twitter, some of them I count as good friends. One helped me through my divorce with our daily twitter conversations. I helped one Twitter friend in South America with funeral arrangements for her father in the United States. I can’t tell you how good that made me feel to help her while she was in a rainforest freaking out about what to do. I once made a sale of over $60,000 basically over Twitter. These events would never have occurred without starting a conversation and getting to know people. On my author account, which is relatively new, I recently met someone whose unique circumstances will make her an invaluable resource as I research a future novel. If you open your mind, the possibilities with Twitter are endless.

As an author I find Twitter more difficult to navigate than I did as a blogger. Blogging, by its very nature is interactive. Being an author really demands that you closet yourself and actually write. We care what our readers think, but if we spend all day chatting about it we’ll never get that book written. I’m not suggesting that you spend all day talking to people on Twitter, but you do need to talk WITH them. Not AT them.

My advice for authors is to try to interact with at least one other person in a personal way on Twitter every time they get on Twitter, or once a day. And I don’t mean another author you’re already friends with. Preaching to the choir is not growing your audience. For that you have to reach out, ask questions, get to know new people. If you respond to someone’s tweet that they’ve been stuck in traffic for over an hour or that they’re having surgery tomorrow – then the NEXT time they see one of your tweets about your latest release they will think of you as a human, a caring person, their Twitter “friend” and not just someone else shouting “Look at me!” and they’re more likely to click on your link.

***

Thanks so much, Normandie! I’m so glad everyone mentioned the human side of tweeting. I am a very social gal, I need feedback and conversation. Knowing that there is more to it than just aimlessly throwing out a ‘less than 100 character’ “Look at Me”, helps a lot. Now that I am fueled with some great knowledge and links, I am looking forward to getting my tweet on!

Thanks for joining us today!

If you have some other Twitter suggestions or want to continue the conversation with more tweet-tastic questions, please reply below. 🙂

Thanks!

*****

Our wonderful co-hostesses for the day:

Normandie Alleman

A former psychologist, Normandie has always been fascinated by human behavior. She loves writing quirky characters that are all too human. “I’m interested in the kind of relationships people have in real life. So I write about my characters’ messy, unpredictable, and inexplicable journeys to love.”

 

If there were another 5 hours in the day, Normandie would spend more time needle-pointing and playing with photography. Instead, she’s a Pinterest addict and sports junkie who’s crazy for Twitter and the color pink. She lives with a passel of children, her hunky husband, and a pet pig who loves Red Bull.

http://normandiealleman.com/

https://www.facebook.com/NormandieAlleman

https://twitter.com/NormandieA

http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6893037.Normandie_Alleman

 

Kathy Batts

Kathy aka Jolynn Raymond’s wife, submissive, and TiH spankee. Webmistress, Social Media Manager, and supplier for endless fodder for Jolynn’s stories. You can follow my adventures on her website, or read about them in Taken In Hand and Dark Obsessions.

About Jolynn Raymond:

I’m a strong, bold, and passionate woman who does her best to live out her dreams. I’m having the best years of my life right now, and have discovered my true self in my kinky lifestyle. I’m a wife, Mistress, writer, lesbian, and grandma with a devious imagination and a taste for darkness.

My love of writing began in my early 30s and has been a passion ever since. I love to read, write, travel the world, and am a history buff. My genre’s cover historical romance, often with a spicy kinky twist to suspenseful paranormal thrillers. My love of history makes its presence in the books I write. They are often set in centuries past. I am a lover of art, architecture, and the study of diverse world cultures and have traveled to many places.

I still reside in the city I grew up and live near my childhood home with the love of my life, my two spoiled cats and our gnome, Gerome. I have been involved in the BDSM lifestyle for over ten years, and am active in the kink community. My BDSM and power exchange relationships have always been loving and committed. I am married and we practice kink and BDSM within our marriage.

Jolynn Raymond’s Dark Obsessions features posts relating to all things kink. The articles are based on the author’s own experiences living a kinky lifestyle. Ms. Raymond is a wife, mistress, lesbian, and writer committed to presenting information in a clear and concise way that will instruct and guide both those new to kink and those who are seeking to expand their knowledge. She also offers books of BDSM erotica, kinky historical fiction, and non fiction books on Domestic Discipline, power exchange relationships, and BDSM information.

http://jolynnraymond.com/find-jolynn/

http://jolynnraymond.com/

http://twitter.com/JolynnRaymond

https://www.facebook.com/JolynnRaymond

http://www.amazon.com/Jolynn-Raymond/e/B0090BBN8I/

Sheri Savill

SHERI SAVILL likes to put her name in all caps.

She is an independent author who has written nonfiction and humor for a very long time. Lately she writes BDSM erotica. And w00t, she is a real-life submissive who was into kink long before it was cool. Oh, she’s also an attorney. Because, evil.

A career in publishing/journalism led her to the brink of insanity. Or past the brink, depending on which former employer you ask.

Her hobbies include violating the rules of good writing and grammar simply because she can, directing friends to Google search, telling strangers to lighten the fuck up, and preparing for the zombie apocalypse.

Sheri’s books are said to be slightly less disappointing than Vanilla Coke. Please deposit an additional twenty-five cents for more bio.

​Sheri Savill’swebsite:sherisavill.com

​Sheri onFacebook: ​https://www.facebook.com/sheri.savill

​Sheri’s Author Page onFB  http://smarturl.it/facebookauthorpage

Sheri onTwitter  http://smarturl.it/sherisavilltwitter

​Sheri onGoogle Plus​   http://smarturl.it/sherisavillgoogle

​Sheri onOne Handed Writers: (bi-weekly)http://smarturl.it/onehandedewriters: ​

​Sheri onYouTube: (silly cartoon-videos I made) ​http://www.youtube.com/user/sherisavill

 

 

25 thoughts on “Author Share – Tweeting

  1. Natasha Knight

    That was probably one of the most informative blog posts I have ever read on anything. Twitter for me is so confusing and not only that, it’s just too much sometimes. What Normandie said about having to closet yourself in to actually write that book – that’s a big part of it. We all have limited time and in those hours, I have to make writing the priority (and I’m supposed to be doing edits right now and here I am reading my 2nd blog post of the day). Once the kids get home, writing is pretty much over and if I have time, I hop on twitter, read a few tweets but mostly, I try to get on FB to quickly keep in the loop or if I’ve posted on my own blog, get that link out there. I was on Triberr for a while but opted out because I felt like I was spamming people. I think the idea of Triberr is great but it just gets too big too fast for me. The idea of talking to people rather than at people is important and I just felt even more disconnected while using Triberr. It’s a great app for the people it works for, it just didn’t work for me.

    Scheduling posts on twitter is something I’ve thought about but had no idea how to do it and no time to figure it out so the links are great. Even better would be Kathy, Sheri and Normandie coming over to do it for me!! 🙂

    Thanks ladies.

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      That’s how I feel too, Natasha! LOL, I second the idea for Kathy, Sheri and Normandie to do the tweeting for me! 🙂
      I’ll barter.
      House cleaning? I am very good at that! (other houses- not my own, LOL)
      Thanks for stopping by!
      🙂

      Reply
    2. Normandie Alleman

      Haha! I’ll be right over to schedule your tweets girlie. And I agree. I have a love/hate relationship with Triberr. Recently I had to decide how important blogging was to me versus actually writing. Like you, with the kids my time is super limited and when my computer was/(IS) broken for a month I didn’t really blog and I didn’t really see a difference in my sales so I’ve decided to focus more on writing and make blogging a secondary priority. It’s too bad we can’t do it all!

      Reply
  2. Casey McKay

    I find out of all the social media stuff, twitter to be the absolute most confusing. Thanks for this post! I think it has a lot of helpful tips. I think especially about trying to interact with your followers and not just being all promo-y is really important.
    I am going to try to follow some of this advice! Thanks for sharing Kathy, Sheri, and Normandie. And thanks for the great topic Katherine!

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      Me too, Casey! LOL, when I started the post, I wasn’t even sure what questions to ask, I felt so “in over my head”. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!
      🙂

      Reply
  3. Celeste Jones

    I’m really enjoying this series, Katherine. Thanks to Kathy, Sheri and Normandie too. I use Triberr but haven’t actually been on Twitter for a long time. The flood of information can be daunting, but I like the advice to interact with one person per day. I may give that a try.

    It also seems (and I’d be curious to hear what others have to say) that social media sort of fluctuates…Twitter was the place to be and now it’s FB. By the time I get FB all figured out, something else will be the place to be.

    Reply
    1. Normandie Alleman

      True Celeste it’s hard to keep up with “the latest”. I think some people are “twitter” people and some people are “FB” people. I haven’t gotten on instagram or snapchat and don’t plan to but I ldo ove me some Pinterest boards.

      Reply
    2. katherinedeane Post author

      Thanks, Celeste!
      I am really enjoying this too 🙂
      The social media fluctuation also describes my inability to stay in the current fashion trends. I am always at least 7-9 months behind everyone.
      Lately, I stopped trying. It’s much easier. Besides, t-shirts and jeans never go out of style 😉
      Thanks for stopping by!
      🙂

      Reply
  4. Normandie Alleman

    Thanks for asking me to participate Katherine. I love twitter and am always happy to talk about it. Plus it’s a pleasure to do anything with Sheri and Kathy. Sheri I am getting TweetBot on my phone TODAY but I won’t mute any of you!

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      Thanks so much, Normandie! You were such a great help!
      I want to do the phone thing. But knowing my luck, I will accidentally cross the personal and professional social lines. (Granny does NOT need to know about my fetish!). So for now, personal stuff stays on the phone, and professional goes on the laptop.
      Maybe it’s time for a second phone?
      Thanks again!!
      🙂

      Reply
  5. tarafinneganromance

    Thanks for sharing your advice on the minefield that is twitter, (or should I say birdbrain)
    It’s a total mystery to me. And I break about every rule. I look at it once in a while and retweet about 20 tweets, then forget to look at it again for days and days.
    I’m none to fond of the auto rt’s though, and sometimes when I see a simple thanks for following, or a message aimed at one person being rt’d by an auto program and I’m thinking WTF?

    I’ll go off and investigate the options above now.

    Reply
  6. shelly douglas

    Thank you ladies for all your valuable information … you see I actually found this on Twitter! Being 150 years old, social media is foreign to me, but I’m trying my best to figure things out. 🙂 I don’t have many followers, so the only posts I’ve retweeted so far are from the Dungeon Crawl (and many thanks to Sheri and a few others who have retweeted mine). Obviously, no one can sit and read Twitter or FB all day … but I think it can’t hurt to put your book or blog out there on somewhat of a regular basis. Someday, when I make a ton of money selling books, I will hire someone to run my Twitter and FB page. Okay, stop laughing out there … really, I can hear you 🙂

    Reply
    1. Beauty's Punishment

      Shelly, it is helpful to have someone be able to be on social media all day and have them just visit with everybody. That’s what I feel I do most days, is visit with everyone and fool around on the internet. 🙂 Jolynn has six more weeks until she can run free for the summer and then she’ll be on more. I’m sure there will still be baths, and tea with honey, and foot rubs.

      Reply
    2. katherinedeane Post author

      Shelly, I feel the same way!! I need a clone for the social media, so I can write. ooh, and a clone to cook and clean. 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Patricia Green

    What a great post! I have to say, though, no one interacts with me on Twitter, even when I post a question or some tidbit from my day. And rarely when I try initiating a “twittersation”. I think I have the wrong followers, maybe, or I’m doing something wrong. I’m a twit when it comes to Twitter. 🙂 Oh, and I hate Triberr. I find it incredibly difficult to pick out friends’ tweets to RT when their feeds are inundated by a zillion Triberr posts.

    Love these insights, ladies. Sheri, you crack me up every time. Thanks for putting it all together, Katherine.

    Reply
  8. Jaye Peaches

    This post as come at the right time for me. Trying to pluck up the courage to set up a Twitter account. Since I don’t use it in any capacity, it is very daunting and somewhat of a minefield to venture into. Thanks for posting up the various links and great advice.

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      Good luck, Jaye!!
      I started mine not too long ago, and the first thing I did, was, find my author friends, and follow them. They followed back quickly. 🙂
      Then I found a few friends, like Renee Rose, who have kind of the same friend base, and picked out some of her follows to follow.

      Then she and Casey talked me into trying out the free version of Buffer App (so I could make my links smaller).
      mostly, I have just been linking to reviews for our new book, or small statements from the book.
      But I am starting to branch out a bit.
      🙂

      Good luck!! Send me your twitter name when you get it, and I will follow you!
      🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

