How long would you wait for sex? Guest post by Joelle Casteel

My friend, Joelle Casteel is here today to talk about her re-release of her new book, “Out of the Night: Book One”.  Take it away, Joelle!

Outofthenightcover

It’s day 10 on my blog tour for the re-release of “Out of the Night: Book One” of my Vala’s Story serial. Please visit this page if you want to catch up on missed posts. Thank you, Katherine, for hosting me.

Now something I’ve learned about since self-publishing “Out of the Night: Book One”- everyone has an opinion about book publishing these days, it seems, and they don’t always realize it’s just their opinion- without any solid proof behind it. Of course, these opinions also have to do with what you, the author, wants to accomplish with publishing. I think I might just write out my goals as a self-publishing author, print them out, and freaking frame them for my living room wall; my Master might mind such an usual decoration, although I think He’d prefer a reduction in my insanity when someone’s opinion gets me going.

As a writer of erotica, erotic romance, one subject on which I often read opinions is “the balance of sex, plot, characterization.” Supposedly this is a very important question, depending on sub-genre, your intended audience, and a variety of other such factors. I find many of the opinions about this far too simplistic. Like “erotica should this percentage of sex” etc etc.

For me, the question has most centered around “when does the first sex scene happen?” From my expanded ideas about sexuality and relationships that go far beyond genital-to-genital based sexual interaction, “first sex scene” is a flippant idea to me. When a reader said she “hadn’t gotten to the naughty bits yet,” I wondered what she considered “naughty,” but alas I didn’t think to ask- she wasn’t ready for BDSM erotic romance :D. Living as a lifestyle submissive, I can tell you, from my perspective, something as small as my Master patting my butt as I walk by Him, or the smile on His face when He takes the first drink of a rum-and-coke that I’ve served Him can be every bit as erotic as Him putting His cock in me.

While “Out of the Night: Book One” didn’t start out as an intended series- hell, it didn’t start as anything I planned to share with anyone but my dominant at the time- it certainly has become one. Somewhere in all the writes, edits, re-writes, reads- I started to look at how the weeks, months of Vala nee Mearr’s life with The Queen follow in terms of books. That forced me to make some decisions. When I wrote that very first version that was given to Tom as a birthday gift, I specifically kept up a flirtation of almost sex scenes, but pushed the first completed (as in at least one person reaching orgasm) as far into the story as possible; Tom was living in a coffeehouse and I was back home with my parents so sexuality and BDSM interaction was a tricky negotiation for him and I. It didn’t seem right in a story for him to dive right into fucking. That edition included much of what’s in “Out of the Night: Book One” and a little into “Gates of the Garden: Book Two.” What I have now can seem like two very different books, in regards to the “when sex happens” question. I want to share two excerpts from the beginning of the two books to let you see the difference for yourself.

From “Out of the Night: Book One” (Copyright Joelle Casteel 2007-2014)

Daniel looked at the large picture window of his coffeehouse, Night. Mearr was there as always.

Mearr was tucked into her usual corner of the window, where she practically lived, in her usual occupation of chain smoking and drinking espresso. No one knew how many she’d had that day as he didn’t charge her anymore; her constant presence in the front window brought in customers, the type who spent money, unlike the regulars. She faced the window though she did her best to hide beneath her ass-long, spiral-curled fire engine red hair.

The same scenes moved by the window. Yuppies rushed by, always heading somewhere, and families strolled by with their idle gazes moving over the storefronts. The children stopped and stared at Mearr with curiosity. The parents’ faces said they hoped their children didn’t turn out like her, dressed in black leather and glaring at the world.

Daniel heard Mearr grunt as he arrived at the window with a cup of espresso and a pack of cigarettes. “Here Mearr. I noticed you were out. Could you clean the place after close? You can take a bottle of ginseng if you need,” he offered.

“Yeah.” Mearr looked at Daniel with a blank stare for a moment and took the espresso and cigarettes from him before looking back out the window.

“If you don’t have anywhere to stay tonight, you can sleep here. Need something to eat?”

“Nope.” Mearr’s eyebrows drew together, her lips pursed. She quickly looked away.

From “Gates of the Garden: Book Two”- (Planned for in about a month). Copyright Joelle Casteel 2014.

The Queen woke first. His expression soft and adoring, he looked at the three slaves asleep in his room. How good it was to have them close.

Iona, relaxed in deep sleep, moaned softly; he held her fingers as they curled against his chest. Restless with dreams, Vala struggled against her bindings. Tommy stared at The Queen’s bed.

The Queen sat up and watched Tommy’s gaze move from the bed to his face. He crawled to the edge and looked down at Tommy. “Good morning, pretty boy. Did you sleep well?”

Tommy groaned. “Yes, my Queen.”

“Is your cock hard for me, my baby boy?” The Queen hopped out of his bed and walked to Tommy.

Tommy took a deep, shaking breath as The Queen sank to his knees. “My obedient cock is… very… hard… for you, my Queen. I… beg you… to touch… me, my Queen.”

The Queen traced the welts on Tommy’s chest.

Tommy cried softly, his gaze moving over The Queen’s intent face. “I love you, my Queen,” he whimpered.

“I love you too, my adorable, helpless baby boy.” The Queen brushed his lips across Tommy’s face. “Do you think last night should count as the beginning of your week of sleeping on a board in my room, baby boy?”

“If… if it… pleases you… my Queen.” Tommy whimpered and pressed his lips against The Queen’s fingers.

“I do not believe it pleases me to count last night.” The Queen laughed softly.

Tommy groaned and continued pressing anxious kisses to whatever part of The Queen he could reach.

So how long would you wait for sex? However you define sex? Especially if you know an author is inviting you into a world that she/he/ze is going to build over a series?

 

“Out of the Night: Book One” blurb

Restless and world-weary, Mearr isn’t about to admit she needs anyone’s help, even this gorgeous man who has taken her into his home. Well one of his homes and part of this huge family she’s heard about but not met all of. She’s young, looks young, and knows it but at least she’s legal now so she can pick a new name to go with her new life…

The Queen knows he wants Mearr bad, ever since the first time he saw her in the window of the coffeehouse. He has his plan, but even a Dominant’s plans don’t always survive the unpredictability of the future. He struggles to figure out this temperamental woman he’s brought home, how best to help her. Then he takes her to his mansion…

They wait patiently for The Queen to bring Mearr home. Well to the home they’ve been redecorating for Him and for the hopes that she’ll become part of their family and be trained to please Him. Simon and Tommy have seen her, of course, being The Queen’s right and left hands; they say she’ll be a perfect addition…

Please come along with Joelle on this journey, shared with the readers in serial fashion. A multitude of “Happily-ever-afters” are waiting with the completion of book 9.

Author’s Note: This novel is meant for open-minded adults. Activities described include a wide range of BDSM and sexual activities, some of which are male/male, male/female, consensual slavery, oral/anal/vaginal intercourse, bondage. The story also covers some sensitive topics in characters’ backstories, such as drug abuse.

Buy it on-

Smashwords – https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/417778

As they become available, please check on the “My Books” page for links to buy on Amazon.com, Barnes and Noble, and Allromanceebooks.com, if you’d prefer not to buy at Smashwords.

Please join Vala’s world. http://joellecasteel.blogspot.com/  https://www.facebook.com/JoelleCasteelAuthor

http://authorjoellecasteel.tumblr.com/

and on http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/10571043-joelle

Joelle’s Bio:

Joelle author head shot

Joelle Casteel has been writing for as long as she can remember. Explicit, graphic, her writing isn’t for minors or the easily offended. Once upon a time, she preferred to write on a PC, sitting on a stool- there were those who told her she looked like Tori Amos playing the piano. She’s still trying to get the hang of writing in an arm chair instead, normally with a heavy dog’s head resting on her feet, whether she wants that or not. With BDSM gaining a broader audience with various books- which she will not name because she can’t stand them- she feels it’s past time to put out her impression of what BDSM can look like in reality.

Rafflecopter giveaway code:

rafl/display/d5ec4a1/” rel=”nofollow”>a Rafflecopter giveaway
// <![CDATA[
src=”//d12vno17mo87cx.cloudfront.net/embed/rafl/cptr.js”>
// ]]>

6 thoughts on “How long would you wait for sex? Guest post by Joelle Casteel

  1. Kathryn R. Blake

    Joelle, you make some really good points about the differing opinions on self-publishing. You need to write the book that works best for you and eroticism is subjective. I agree that a smile, grin or even a caress can be very erotic. Much more sexy than the actual act which can be noisy and messy. Go ahead and put that plaque on the wall if it helps. I’m sure your Master would approve.

    Reply
    1. Joelle Casteel

      thanks for the comment, Kathryn 🙂 I do need to finish the goals and get them up on the wall :D. But yes, we get so tied up in what “it” is. Even in hard core erotica with no attempt at characterization or plot, there’s usually moments not directly describing the sex act lol.

      Reply
  2. wtlaforge

    This is an extremely interesting topic and you made some excellent points on the subject of how long to wait for the first sex scene. I agree having sex in the first scene is a bit much. However, in my humble opinion, if the story is supposed to be erotica, I wouldn’t expect sex to happen in the very last scene. Unless it’s a short story with only one sex scene.

    Reply
    1. Joelle Casteel

      Thanks for the comment 🙂 funny thing, I managed sex on the first page of my nanowrimo novel this year :D, but then I love doing things the way I want to, regardless of what people think 😀

      Reply

Leave a Reply

