Am I a Candidate for Age Play?

young at heart

LOL, this question has been bugging me for a few months now.

It’s not that I am don’t have the potential to be an AP’er.

Actually, I am one of the youngest people in every group I belong in- either by age or by actions.

I have always been a child at heart. I delight in dancing and singing, skipping, jumping, and climbing trees. I love playing, and I love the freedom that comes from just being me.

My good friends, Corinne and Renee confirmed for me last year, that my spirit animal is the otter.

Some of the associations with the otter are:

  • Creativity
  • Imagination
  • Laughter
  • playfulness
  • curiosity
  • joy
  • love of the young

This fits me perfectly!

But I also live in the conflicting reality that I am a 41 year old wife, SAHM, and mother to two children. (whom I love with all my heart!)

My responsible side tells me

“there is no room for such frivolities or foolishness.

“You are in charge. Stop playing. Mold these little minds. Clean the house. Put on some cool clothes and jewelry (and Heaven forbid, some makeup!) like the other moms.

Stand on the side and watch the children play. Catch up on the gossip. Compete with the other mommies, and make sure they know how much better you are at your job.”

And for the last time, please do something with your unpainted toe nails- jeesh!

Grow up already!”

***

But the truth is:

I like playing with the kids.

I prefer to not listen to the drama and gossip.

I like not competing- unless it’s a sport. If you want to go for a run, I will toast your *ss! 🙂

Oh, and I love charades!

The problem is that I haven’t found a way to explore this new dynamic yet. I know, because of my responsibilities, I need to find a happy medium between play and work.

I think my husband may even be starting to get the picture that I need some “little” time.

He spanked me, the other night, for “acting like a brat”. His words EXACTLY!

This is a story for another time, because there is a lot that came from that one word. But I’ll tell you. It did something to me. It opened up a need that I have been pushing down for a very long time.

I still don’t quite understand what this need is, or what it entails, or even if we will explore. But I know it is there. And my husband is getting the picture.

*****

So guess what I am doing today?

In honor of the movie “Frozen” coming out on DVD, I am hosting a (very last minute!) viewing party for my daughters’ friends.

We will eat pizza and cupcakes.

We will watch the movie and laugh and giggle.

We will dance and sing at the top of our lungs to songs like “Let it go.” *****

And you know what? I won’t be embarrassed to be myself. Because the kids don’t judge me. They accept me for who I am.

A child at heart.

And hopefully after today, the coolest mom in the neighborhood! 😉

(If you have never heard this song, please go listen to it. It is amazing! The words are so meaningful. They are what inspired me to write this post this morning. And if I have more time later, I will write more. I’m not sure if I am allowed to post the link here. So if anyone sees a problem with this, please let me know, and I will delete it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0MK7qz13bU

But here are some of the words that touched me the most. 

Update.

I don’t want to get into any trouble for posting lyrics, so I’m going to have to delete this next section.  But you can see the lyrics if you do a google search. 🙂

They are beautiful!

Thanks! 🙂

*****

 

16 thoughts on “Am I a Candidate for Age Play?

  1. Natasha Knight

    That made me cry a little. I think I’m ovulating (TMI) as I’m hyper sensitive at the moment and first it was your comment about not being judged – then it was the song. People who make you feel judged are not worth a moment of your time or a moment of your thoughts. Go be you – however you express it!

    What is SAHM by the way?

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      Thanks, Natasha!
      I must write posts during a lot of your womanly times. LOL, I seem to make you cry a lot. 🙂 sorry
      If it makes you feel better, I cry during certain parts too. 🙂

      SAHM is Stay at Home Mom

      and thanks so much for your friendship and support!
      hugs!

      Reply
  2. Patricia Green

    You have to be yourself, Katherine. No one else can be you. So live it up with the kiddies. Your children will cherish the memories in years to come.

    By the way, song lyrics are copyright protected, so technically, you’re not allowed to post them without permission. How all those song lyric sites get away with it, I don’t know. The You Tube video link is probably okay since it’s a link, though I’m not certain on this.

    Great post, and fully of vitality, just like you.

    Reply
  3. Joelle Casteel

    And I salute your viewing party with my “Cutie Mark Crusader” brony t-shirt 🙂 I’m trying to tell myself that going to buy stuff for the cat I want without my Master’s permission would be a mistake 😀 responsibility and submission are just barely wining atm lol

    Reply
  4. Derek Deane

    Hey Katherine . You sure you weren’t born a Deane !!!! You act like one !!! DONT grow up never ever . I am 49 with three kids and I love their company and their friends. Enjoy While it last. Oh an piss off with the toe nail polish. Hope you get spanked for not t putting it on !!!! Derek.

    Reply
  5. Casey McKay

    I am so upset I missed your Frozen party! I loved this post. You should never grow up! Did I tell you I spent a good part of my cousin’s two year old’s bday party trying to show the kids how to sneak icing off the cake in places no one would see it? Life’s too short to be a grumpy, responsible adult all the time 🙂

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      hehe, no, you didn’t tell me that, Casey. That is awesome! 🙂
      LOL, anytime you want to come over and watch kid movies with us, fee free!
      They are on all the time around here!
      Please keep me posted on any current events I have missed 😉

      Reply
  6. Shelly Romance-Landolf

    There is nothing wrong with being young at heart and enjoying playing with your children. They grow up too fast and then they will not want to play anymore and it sucks. I tried to get my daughter to watch Brave with me a few weeks ago and she laughed at me ugh teenagers.

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      Oh nuts, sorry, Shelly. 😦
      guess I had better get my fun in now before they become teenagers. 🙂
      Thanks for the kind words and support. 🙂 I really do love playing with them!
      Good luck with the next movie venture!
      🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

