Writing Process Blog Hop

Thanks to Renee Rose for inviting me to this blog hop, where authors answer questions about their writing process.

I was pretty intimidated at the thought of explaining my writing process, because I am still so new to the scene, and have only been blogging and writing for a year now.  But then I realized I have grown in confidence because of everything I have learned, especially by doing things the hard way. And these experiences have given me the opportunity to learn and grow. So here goes!

1. What am I working on?
LOL, that question tickles me because I feel like I have twenty stories I am working on right now. My first book is about to be published, and is co-written by Casey McKay and Renee Rose.  It was by far, the fastest story I have ever written, and the most fun! It’s called “The Ever Afters: The Winter Storm”.
I am also finishing up edits on a contemporary story I started last year. (I’ll explain more about this situation in number 4.)
I also have at least three stories running amok in my head, demanding to be written; and one story already outlined and ready to go. I just have to sit down and focus long enough to finish one of them.
My friends like to joke that I am a little on the ADD side, and based on my overlapping story ideas, they may be right. 🙂

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?
I think everyone’s work is different. This seems to be such a small genre, that similar stories are constantly being done by different authors.  But I still love reading them. Because each author’s voice is unique.
My voice is distinctive, because I write based on my own fantasies and desires.  I also infuse a lot of myself into my female POV’s.
I also like to come up with very complicated and off the wall scenarios.  I don’t like the idea of a simple, “Boy meets girl, spanks girl, falls in love…”
I prefer to turn the whole thing upside down, and play with it!
My story from “The Ever Afters”, came as an idea when I was writing a story for the Winter Spanks Blog Hop.  I decided I wanted to take fairy tale characters, and place them with some paranormals; then added a lot of spankings and romance!
I placed the old world, corset wearing , dowery presenting, brother/sister team, and placed them in a modern fetish lodge.
(This seems like the appropriate place for a MUAHAHA)
I also love light sarcasm and symbolism.  The whole book is filled with meaningful names, recognizable characters from other fairy tales, or symbolic names;  just to keep people on their toes.
For example,
Jake and Jillian (brother and sister who get attacked by wolves at the beginning of the story), have a horse named Banbury.
This was taken from the nursery rhyme, “Ride a Cock Horse to Banbury Cross”.  Some of the different meanings of cock horse are “spirited horse” and “adult’s knee”.
I loved the idea of writing a spanking romance using a name that symbolized an adult’s knee, LOL! 🙂

3. Why do I write what I do?
That is the easiest question for me to answer!  I love being spanked, reading about women being spanked, dreaming about spankings day and night! In case you haven’t guessed already, I am a Spanko. 🙂
I love creating these characters in my mind, and then building on them, giving them emotions and depth.  I have so many different facets of desires in spanking, and have created characters to fulfill these fantasies.
DD, fantasy, contemporary, con and non con, paranormal…
You name it! If it has two characters available for romance and spankings, then I am in!
I love spanking romance!

4. How does my writing process work?
I have found that my creativity sometimes stifles my production. I get so overwhelmed with all the extra ideas running through my head that I sometimes shut down.
This has caused me to start, and put aside several books, unfortunately.
One big thing that helped me was setting a deadline. Not just a self imposed deadline, but a real one where other people were counting on me.
When Casey and Renee agreed to work on the “Ever After” book, they came up with a very short deadline. Knowing my propensity for distraction, I agreed, and did it!
This turned out to be a very helpful experience.
To keep my energy from overloading and shutting me down, I need to be pushed into a do or die situation.
I have to do most of my blogging and writing in the mornings when I am fresh. I am of no good to anyone, after 6 pm, both creatively and “grammarly”. Hehe, take a guess if I wrote this section at night. 🙂
My most helpful, “love this!” , “gotta use this!” tool is Write or Die.
I love using the online version to pump out scenes, when I am not feeling motivated.
Even more helpful, though, is the support network.  I have a small group of friends that I can go to when I need to vent or flush out errors, or beta scenarios.  But this group is best for the accountability.  I can say “I’m writing tonight for 1 hour. Who wants to join me?”; and will always get several repliers who will join in, and several others who tell me to go for it.  And they mean it.
Go for it!
You can do it!
I love and need this accountability and support, and appreciate having these friends.
I was able to finish this book much quicker, because of my new tools, and their support.
Thanks for joining me today. 🙂
*****
…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Next week, Mon March 3, you can read about the following awesome authors!
Patricia Green is a fiction writer specializing in erotic romance. She provides the reader with love stories that emphasize fun characters with quirky personalities, and is the author of more than 20 published novels and novellas.Patricia is married and the mother of twins. When she’s not being the angel of domestic harmony and a semi-crazed creator of fictional friends, she loves to read, crochet, knit and watch hockey and baseball.
………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………
A former psychologist, Normandie has always been fascinated by human behavior. She loves writing quirky characters that are all too human. Fiber arts, baking, and Pinterest are a few of her favorite pastimes. She lives on a farm with a passel of kids, an adorable husband, and a pet pig who’s crazy for Red Bull.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized on by .

About katherinedeane

I like to escape reality often, through reading or writing. I love fantasy, sci fi, paranormal, adventure, and spanking romance. I have a DD relationship with my wonderful husband. I started writing because I have a vivid imagination and wild fantasies. I am eagerly awaiting the release of my first book!

14 thoughts on “Writing Process Blog Hop

  1. Cara Bristol

    Your enthusiasm and excitement for writing (and spanking) really comes through. I’m so happy for you that your first book will be published. Welcome to the published author’s club?

    Reply
  2. Roz

    Hi Katherine, I enjoyed reading about your writing process and your enthusiasm really shines through 🙂 congratulations on your first published book! 🙂

    Hugs,
    Roz

    Reply
  3. Pingback: My Writing Process - Percolation Required #AmWriting - Normandie Alleman

Leave a Reply

