New Book Promo for “Mastering Maeve” by Tara Finnegan.

mastering maeve_tara finnegan

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I am so excited to finally have Tara Finnegan on my blog!  She came today to tell us about her new book, Mastering Maeve.

I am reading it right now, and am loving it! Larry is sexy, authoritative, and handsome. Maeve is spirited, beautiful, and passionate.   As you can see by the beautiful cover!  The sparks between these two are amazing!

I adore the grandmother in this story, and loved her manipulations. (you’ll see what I mean when you read the excerpt Tara has provided!.  This Granny is a masterful puppeteer.

This is definitely a story you don’t want to miss!

Take it away, Tara!

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Hi Katherine, thank you so much for inviting me to come visit your blog, I’m delighted to be here and to share a little of Mastering Maeve.

One of the things I really loved about working on Mastering Maeve was incorporating Bridie, Maeve’s Granny. To me, she is typical of so many of the older generation of Irish women and was a total joy to write. It’s very hard for a young woman nowadays to imagine how tough things were for Irish women at the time. The system was very much aligned against them, and due to recessions etc, often it was very difficult for them to go to work outside the home. Therefore they were financially dependent and I suppose you could say a little under the thumb. But that was often very much only on the face of it, if you scratched the surface you would find some very clever women who ruled the roost with an iron fist and a wet dish cloth! They kept the wheels of the family turning, often against the odds and were truly admirable.

Because of that, what I’d like to share today isn’t one of the hot sexy spanking or love scenes. I’d really like to showcase a little of Bridie, and let your readers see how she is working everything behind the scenes, often very much to Maeve’s annoyance. I think she really adds colour to the book. I hope readers will agree.

 …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

“It would be a lot easier to work with you if we could at least try to be friends,” Larry suggested hopefully.

“Let’s get one thing clear, Mr Williamson. I accept I may have brought a little of it on myself by slapping you first, but my friends are not in the habit of assaulting me in such an intimate manner, and if they did, I would no longer consider them friends. What I feel towards you right this minute is a small measure of gratitude that you are considering saving the hotel, coupled with enough knowledge of you not to push the boundaries again. Mainly though what I feel about you is fear, and fear will never be the basis for a friendship,” Maeve replied, her determined tone confirming the resoluteness showing in her stubborn chin. “And there is one thing I wish to make absolutely clear before we pursue any type of business arrangement, if you repeat that behaviour, I will press charges. I’m letting it pass this time because I lashed out first. And one other thing—I’d prefer if Granny was present for any future meetings; it is her business after all, not mine.”

“Perhaps you’re right, we can see if she is available now, or we can defer this until a time that is suitable for her,” Larry agreed. Maeve thought he looked a little relieved at getting the issue of the spanking out in the open and he even seemed to be regarding her with a grudging admiration.

“Give me five minutes to see what she’s up to,” Maeve quickly responded, clutching at the proffered straw, and went running off to find Bridie. She returned and suggested to Larry that they might be better relocating to the office where they wouldn’t be interrupted and that Bridie would meet them there.

“Maeve tells me you’ve changed your mind about investing,” she said with a smug smile stealing across her lips. Maeve knew that look; it was the look that said ‘I won.’

“Yes, ma’am, I think we can find a way to make it work, but we need to work out the fine details and I’d like to look over your accounts some more. Maeve here felt it would be more appropriate if we all three met together.” Larry gave her his most winning all-American guy smile.

Maeve shuddered. As if butter wouldn’t melt in his mouth, she thought. And Granny is falling for it hook, line, and sinker.

“Ok, son, now’s the time to tell you, I want to retire so it’s all the same to me if you keep this place going or the bank take it over, I’m too old to work. If you keep it going, it will be Maeve there you’ll be dealing with. I’m worn out.”

Maeve started spluttering; this was a fine time for the old dragon to announce her retirement. She always had to have the last word, and as for calling him son, only Bridie McNamara would call Larry Williamson the Fourth son and get away with it. Maeve couldn’t help wondering what the conniving old witch had up her sleeve this time. And now she had no comfort zone between herself and the spanking king.

“I’ll leave yiz to it. Maeve knows where everything is and you might as well get used to each other.” Without giving either Larry or Maeve a moment to get a word in edgeways, she was gone. Maeve could picture the self-satisfied smile that was most likely on her lips as she exited.

“What’s the witch up to now?” she thought aloud, forgetting that it was exactly that kind of comment that had gotten her in so much bother before.

“I thought I made it perfectly clear I didn’t want to hear such disrespect towards your grandma. I cannot believe we are having this conversation again so soon,” he said ominously.

“Yes, Mr Williamson, conversation and that’s as far as it goes,” Maeve warned. “Ok, if it makes you so unhappy, I’ll keep my thoughts about Granny to myself. I love her dearly, I owe her everything, but I know her a damn sight better than you. One day you’ll see her true colours and I promise to try not to laugh too loud when you do, so let’s drop the subject. It seems it’s pretty much you and me now, so can we work together?”

 ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Publisher’s Blurb:

Finished with college and unable to find a job in her chosen field, twenty-four year old Maeve O’Reilly saw little choice but to return to her hometown in Connemara and work in her grandmother’s hotel. Maeve has barely walked in the door, however, when she learns that the establishment is deep in debt and an American visitor is considering an investment which could be the only chance to avoid foreclosure.

That visitor turns out to be a tall, ruggedly handsome rancher by the name of Larry Williamson, a man whose dominant personality immediately puts him in conflict with the willful Maeve. When she slaps Larry across the face during a heated argument, Maeve learns to her horror that Larry is more than ready to haul her over his knee and back up his firm tone with a firm hand applied to her helpless bottom.

Larry might like to tell himself that he has chosen to move forward with the hotel investment only to avoid any legal difficulties stemming from the spanking incident, but he knows full well that there is only one thing in Ireland he is interested in right now, and that is a beautiful, feisty, sore-bottomed young lady named Maeve.

As the days pass, Maeve quickly finds her anger at Larry fading to grudging respect, and the memory of his chastisement begins to kindle a powerful need within her… a need only the arrogant, bossy Texan can satisfy. Maeve longs for Larry to strip her bare and claim her in a way no man has before, and when at last he does all she can do is beg for more. But will the wide gulf of the Atlantic and the hard realities of a long-distance romance tear the unlikely couple apart, or will they find a way to defy the odds and forge their passion into a lasting bond?

Publisher’s Note: Mastering Maeve is an erotic novel that includes spankings, anal play, sexual scenes, elements of BDSM, and more. If such material offends you, please don’t buy this book.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Buy links

Amazon.com

Amazon.co.uk

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

About Tara Finnegan:

Accidental writer from the west of Ireland, Tara likes to write about strong, feisty modern day heroines who meet their match with even stronger spanking heroes where the sparks will fly.

When not writing, she is a wife, mother, taxi-service, gofer and general finder of lost items!

Tara’s Blog

Tara’s Twitter

Tara’s Amazon page

Tara’s Facebook Page

18 thoughts on “New Book Promo for “Mastering Maeve” by Tara Finnegan.

  1. Irishey

    Tara, I love your feisty Bridie’s machinations of Maeve! Wonderful excerpt. Thank you.

    Thanks for hosting Tara, Katherine. I really enjoy little peeks into Irish life. 😉

    Reply
    1. Tara Finnegan

      Thanks Celeste. Bridie is a derivative of Brigid and as such was a fairly common name once upon a time, but its pretty much out of fashion now, although the Gaelic equivalent is Breege or Brid is still in vogue to some extent.

      Reply
  2. Tara Finnegan

    Katherine, thanks a million for letting me come visit and putting up with my ramblings. I very much appreciate it. Goodnight from the Emerald Isle.

    Reply
    1. katherinedeane Post author

      You are so welcome, Tara!
      I am enjoying the adventures and misadventures. 🙂
      BTW, I absolutely adore the cover!
      It is sooooooo gorgeous!
      Is this what Ireland really looks like?
      I want to come visit!
      Congratulations again on the new release!!
      Good luck!!
      🙂

      Reply
      1. Tara Finnegan

        Korey May did a wonderful job on the cover didn’t she? Yes, parts of Ireland are like that, and the colours are magnificent. But the last day or two are grey grey and more grey. You need to pick your time for a visit carefully! Thanks again Katherine

  3. Johnna Maquire

    Since I was close to several great-aunts and two grandmothers who survived the great depression, elements of Bridie come across as very familiar to me–strong, independent, manipulative, matriarchal. This book is definitely on my reading list, can’t wait to get to it.

    Reply
    1. Tara Finnegan

      Thanks Johnna, i think many of those traits were the survival tools of women in a tougher era. They needed them and they honed their skills brilliantly. It’s hard not to admire their triumph, even if there are times it drives the relations insane

      Reply
    1. Tara Finnegan

      Thanks so much Corinne. You’re too kind.
      When I read I think it’s great to get a glimpse into other nation’s traditions and ways, to enjoy different characters and perspectives. Thankfully with the ebook, that’s getting easier and easier.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

