Katherine’s Connections – Kate Strand (Deathless Love)

kat_connections

My latest connection is from a Renee Rose, paranormal spanking romance. I am actually starting to wonder if Renee writes stories specifically for me.  LOL, I know that’s not the case, but in my nice little world of egocentricity, I am going to keep thinking that way.  🙂

I love the strength Renee applies to her characters while also giving them flaws. And it is so easy for me to connect with her characters. Some of them really seem like me.

This latest connection is a character from one of her earlier works, Deathless Love.  It’s a paranormal work, which is probably my favorite genre. While I like some realism in the stories I read, I prefer to escape into them. This makes paranormal a great genre for me. It has just the right amount of realism mixed in with fantasy. Add to the mix, a little bit of spanking and sex, and I am in Seventh Heaven!

Renee created a wonderfully engaging character in Kate Strand. I also have to acknowledge that I love her name because one of my nicknames is Kate.

Kate is a talented, outgoing, beautiful, and charismatic woman, – the lead singer of a band, who loses a lot of her edge when she is not behind the mic. When she is performing, she is confident and charismatic.  But when off stage, she loses some of that.  She doesn’t have the microphone to hide behind anymore.

I also like to sing, and that’s how I feel behind the microphone. Center of attention, with the mic in hand and a full band behind me (though I prefer to be backup usually), is more comfortable, and more my zone. It’s safer than talking with another person. It’s less intimate, less vulnerable.

Once off stage, Kate’s true nature settles in. She is unsure of the male attention she receives, less confident, less able to deal with confrontation comfortably.  In one early scene, she is visibly shaken by the unwanted attentions of another man. But it’s not necessarily his attention that bothers her. It’s her inability to react comfortably. She doesn’t know how to shut him down nicely. She doesn’t want to hurt his feelings.

This is exactly how I am. I can’t stand the thought of hurting another person’s feelings, or having them unhappy with me.

Then Kate has a very intimate interaction with Dom, a vampire, her boss, a Dominant. She gets a little drunk, and falls off the stage. Dom takes her into his office to make sure she is ok, and ends up spanking her over his desk. They actually have some great sex afterwards, but this first spanking was what really turned me on.

Since Kate is a submissive at heart, she finds herself drawn to Dom’s strength and dominance. But she is also confused and slightly embarrassed by her reaction.

Kate likes the eroticism in his spankings and dominance.  They even make a rule where she gets spanked every time she rolls her eyes at Dom. But Dom agrees to make them fun spankings, and she agrees whole heartedly.

I am also very aroused by spankings and shows of dominance from my husband. We are walking a very fine line between spanking eroticism, and Domestic Discipline. And it works for us.

Just like it works for Kate and Dom in their new relationship.

There are also scenes where Dom gives Kate guidelines and takes charge, like when he takes over the move from her apartment to take some of the pressure off her. He reads her very well. (Then again, he is a 500 year old vampire, and not your typical human male.) Kate doesn’t appreciate his taking charge at times, but she also feels safe under his leadership. A conundrum for any woman today.

Kate even asks Dom to help her with her eating habits, like cutting wheat from her diet, because she wants him to set boundaries. She seeks accountability, not tyranny.  This builds her strength, and enables her to help herself.

This is what I long for in my DD relationship; protection, boundaries, strength, and helping me to help myself.  I am a grown woman, who needs to know that I can protect myself. But it sure does help to know that my safety net is there, or that my coach will give me a little push when I need it.

Though Kate submits easily to Dom, this doesn’t make her weak. It just shows that Dom is stronger, more experienced, and willing to be there for her.  Dom is the safety net, the protective wall.  He doesn’t imprison her with his dominance, but he protects her from others and herself.

I also liked the confrontation scene in the restaurant. When Kate’s meal isn’t done correctly, she fears confronting the waiter. But Dom gives her a push. Dom doesn’t do it for her, he doesn’t talk to the waiter, but he tells Kate he knows she has the strength in her to speak up for herself. So she does. The food is fixed properly, no harm, no foul. I loved that scene. She stood up for herself, and didn’t get hurt. Yeah, Kate!

I have been such a people pleaser for so much of my life, that it is hard for me to confront others. I can see Kate’s fears and totally empathize with them.

I can also relate to her desire for consistency.

In one scene, Kate gets in a lot of trouble because she forgets to put down the shades, hurting Dom. This could have killed him or his friends, and he had been very firm in that one rule. Shades down when the sun is out.

With Renee’s permission, I’ll post the punishment scene at the end.

It is INTENSE!

But it is completely necessary. Kate desires consistency, safety, and an environment in which she can grow, and be protected if need be. Boundaries are as necessary as food and water.  If Dom had not reacted with a firm punishment, I think she would have resented him for it.

This is how I feel when my husband is inconsistent with me.  Consistency means safety, both physically and emotionally.

Though her punishment is hard, she toughs it out, because she really is stronger than she gives herself credit for, and she has already agreed that she made a huge mistake. She desires his consistency.

I really liked Kate, and found a lot of myself in her.  Her erotic needs, her spanko desires, her submissiveness, her desire for boundaries, while also being appreciated for her own strength and abilities- they all mirror my own desires and needs.

I loved this book. I really enjoyed connecting with Kate. And I think we share a lot more than just a name.

Here is the yummy punishment scene, I was talking about. Very delicious, especially if you have any spanko in you.  🙂

****************************************

deathlesslove_hot_detail

Kate’s knees were jelly. She tripped down the stairs and into Dom’s bedroom with her heart pounding in her throat. Oh God. There was a belt on the bed. She was sure it was purposeful. This was it.

Her first real punishment spanking. She didn’t count the time he spanked her to tears over snapping at him, because he hadn’t really been angry then and he had done it to relieve her stress. This time he was angry—she could tell. She paced around the room, tears choking her. Her face burned with the pressure of them. She sat on the bed and started to cry.

The door opened and Dom filled the doorway, holding a wooden spoon. She stood up and ran to him, clutching his arm so he could find her in space. “Dom, I’m so sorry. I was in a hurry and I just totally forgot that I’d opened the shutters.” Her tears started up fresh again.

To her surprise, he wrapped his arms around her and held her tight. She sobbed into his chest. When she had calmed down a bit, he drew her away and looked in her direction, although his blind eyes missed focusing on her eyes. They were a horrible sight—bloody mucous was oozing out of the inner and outer corners of his eyes and the whites were completely bloodshot. His skin was as red as a lobster, like a redhead who’d spent all day at the beach without sunscreen. Some places had weeping blisters.

“Kate, there’s no excuse for your irresponsibility. I thought I made it clear how serious it was to leave the shutters closed.”

“You did,” she choked. “You absolutely did. I know and I feel so bad,” her voice broke again and she drew in several hiccupping breaths.

Dom just waited.

“Are you going to spank me?” she asked in a whisper.

“What do you think I should do?” he asked quietly.

Ah. This was the consent piece, again. He wasn’t going to hurt her without her permission. Of course she didn’t want to be spanked. Especially not with his belt. But she’d caused him to be badly hurt and she felt absolutely horrible about it. And spanking was the solution on the table. She leaned her forehead against his chest and nodded. She couldn’t bring herself to say the words—to actually ask him to spank her. He understood.

“Take off your clothes,” he commanded.

He went to the bed, reaching his legs in front of him tentatively, until one of them hit the edge of it. He sat down, turning his face in her direction.

Knowing he was blind somehow made stripping off her clothes a little easier, but not that much. There was something about baring herself to be punished that made her feel so very small and vulnerable.

“Can I just pee first?” she asked in voice that sounded too squeaky.

He nodded without comment. He still looked so stern and remote. Her thighs trembled as she peed and her breath was coming in quick little gasps. She returned and stood in front of him, her belly doing flip flops. He still held the wooden spoon in one hand. He felt for her hips and then pushed her across his knee, with her head resting on the bed.

There was no waiting in anticipation this time. It wasn’t a game. He started immediately spanking hard with the spoon, taking her breath away with the thud of it. She gasped and squirmed. He threw his free leg over to scissor hers so that she was firmly pinned across his knee. It was worse than any spanking he’d given her, and this was just the warm up. As the burn increased, she struggled harder to escape the punishing smacks of the wooden spoon. It seemed he was applying it all over her already burning bottom—smarting every inch until she imagined it was as red as his burnt skin.

“Please, Dom!” she was starting to panic. “Stop! Please!” Fear had welled up in her. She couldn’t possibly take any more, she was sure of it. And he was so angry, he was sure to overdo it. And that wasn’t even considering his vampire strength. Oh God, were his fangs out? He’d warned her to be careful of him when he was angry. She was flipping out completely. She reached a hand back to block the spoon and felt Dom’s body jerk in response. He snatched her wrist and pinned it behind her back.

“Do not reach, Kate! I could break your fingers that way.” Then he gave her five of the hardest spanks she had ever felt. She screamed bloody murder the whole time, trying in vain to get free of his merciless hold.

He lifted her abruptly onto her feet, then and rubbed her bottom. She was completely agitated and confused. “Go stand in the corner. I think you need a break,” he said in the most ordinary tone, as if he hadn’t just spanked the living daylights out of her.

 

(c) Renee Rose and Stormy Night Publications

 

Renee Rose, erotic romance author, did not come out of the closet as a spanko until she published her spanking romance, Betrothed. A lifelong writer, she has a B.A. in creative writing from Knox College, where she won the Davenport prize for both fiction and poetry, and the Lorraine Smith prize for literary criticism.  She spent thirteen years in technical writing before she found a way to incorporate her deepest darkest spanking fantasies into fiction and express a part of her that longed to see the light. She is now passionate about supporting others in accepting and exploring their kink, whatever that may be.  Leave a comment on her blog at www.reneeroseromance.com and join the conversation!

Social Media Links:

Twitter
Facebook
Goodreads 
Pinterest

 reneeroseromance copy Renee Rose
Erotic Romance Author| e: reneeroseauthor@gmail.com |w: www.reneeroseromance.com

No romance story is complete without a spanking!

A blurb about Kate and Dom’s next short story, Deathless Discipline

Although spankings top the list of Kate’s favorite activities with her vampire husband Dom, they are usually the highly erotic foreplay to making mind-bogglingly amazing love.

Not this time. Dom feels that he must lay down the law when Kate not only stays out much longer than she planned and doesn’t answer his calls, but also lies to him about it. There’s only one thing to do—give her a long, hard, bare-bottom discipline spanking that she will not soon forget.

Follow these characters from Renee Rose’s full-length novel Deathless Love as their relationship continues to grow!

A bonus short story called Mary Catherine Learns Her Lesson is also included, which takes place at the No Return nightclub featured prominently in Deathless Love.

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00AV53MTK/ref=as_li_tf_il?ie=UTF8&tag=wwwreneeroser-20&linkCode=as2&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B00AV53MTK

13 thoughts on “Katherine’s Connections – Kate Strand (Deathless Love)

    1. reneeroseauthor

      I know, I think either vampires are super hot, or you’re not into them at all. I guess kinda like spanking! 🙂

      Reply
  1. reneeroseauthor

    Thank you so much for this beautiful post, Katherine! Kate is my special connection too… which makes us… TWINS! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

